Mississippi has specific laws and regulations that impact how a DUI could affect you. It is a crime, like in all other states, to drive when you are legally impaired. In Mississippi, the per se DUI limit is .08%, which is the point at which you can be arrested without further evidence.
As a person with a license in Mississippi, you need to understand the possible penalties you could face if you drive while intoxicated. You could face:
- Administrative penalties, such as a suspension of your license, for failing to take alcohol concentration testing.
- A requirement to install an ignition interlock restricted license if you want to continue to drive.
- The loss of your commercial motor vehicle license, if you have one.
- Financial penalties. Fees include costs such as $175 for the ignition interlock system or a $175 reinstatement fee for your regular driver’s license.
Another thing you may need to do is to complete the DUI intervention program. This is a mandated program that is normally a requirement after a conviction. Mississippi doesn’t allow you to enroll prior to a conviction.
This program costs $200 (as of the 2019 samples MASEP class document) and has to be paid during the first session. This fee, along with others, can add up to thousands of dollars, which is why it’s helpful to take a firm defensive stance to protect your own interests.
What can you do to fight a DUI charge?
If you are facing a DUI charge, you can take a few steps to fight back.
The first thing to do is to discuss your case with someone familiar with the law, so you can look into alternative sentencing options as well as determining if your Breathalyzer test or other testing was performed correctly. If it wasn’t, then your attorney may be able to build a defense against the charges.
With the right evidence and a good approach to your case, it may be possible to mitigate the damage of the accusations and minimize the risk of a conviction. If you do face a conviction, your attorney may be able to get the penalties reduced or eliminated.